BFFF crowns frozen food people of the year

BFFF crowns frozen food people of the year

The frozen food industry has recognised its standout individuals and teams in the British Frozen Food Federation’s second annual People Awards.

The awards received entries from both retail and foodservice businesses, with the overall winners being selected from 14 categories that covered both individual and team efforts, including Business Transformation of the Year, Unsung Hero, Customer Champion, Apprentice of the Year and Charity and Community Champion.

The latter was won by Lisa Hayes of apetito, who was praised for going above and beyond in her innovation of the Sunday Lunch Club, giving up her Sundays to provide lunches for elderly and vulnerable residents. She has also improved teamwork and motivation across the business through volunteering initiatives that have raised over £130K for worthwhile causes in three years.

Commenting on this year’s award winners, John Hyman, Chief Executive of BFFF, said: “Following such a successful launch year, it was great to see so many companies within the frozen food industry engaging in these awards for a second year and helping us champion the incredible talent that can be found across all areas of our industry.

“The introduction of new categories to this year’s awards has allowed a light to be shone on even more successful individuals and initiatives across the industry, covering innovation, sustainability and creativity.”

Other winners include Mark Hardy from apetito who won Unsung Hero of the Year; Zoe Beauvoisin from apetito who won the Development Champion award; Operations Manager of the Year went to Thomas Hunt of Hunts Foodservice; Naz Haq from Bidfood was this year’s Customer Champion; the Innovation Team at Bidfood won Innovation Team of the Year; Rachel Hartwell from Bidfood won Purchaser of the Year; Caterforce’s Kelly Orme won the Technical Champion; and the Rising Star Award went to Daniel Morris of Billington Foodservice. The awards were rounded off with the presentation of a Lifetime Achievement Award to Stephen Waugh, BFFF past President, for his contribution to the frozen food industry over his illustrious career.

Privacy Policy